Divine wind intervention

The Journey begins

That evening I felt an urge to go and explore the low-sec again. The previous two ops can’t be considered as serious ones. In the last one I didn’t even make it to low-sec because of my successful ghost site run. You can read about it here.

This time I also ran into a ghost site and did even better job: locked two nearest structures and scanned them to decide which one should I hack. The results of this run:

Screen Shot 2016-02-23 at 23.11.03

Screen Shot 2016-02-23 at 23.11.51
After yet another of those hi-sec (still spooky) ghost site

Shh, don’t wake the sleepers

Not long after that I stumbled upon a “Sleeper cache”. Well, I was familiar with this kind of sites. The first and the latest one had some type of the toxic cloud inside so I died pretty quickly to it due to the ultimate lack of active tank.

So those Sleeper caches are something like regular data sites. Except there are some complications connected to them. First, you need to hack the entrance to the actual site. Fail it once – say hello to the self-destruct timer on the “door”. I don’t know what happens if you manage to fail it twice. In case you succeed acceleration gate spawns that leads to the cache.

Screen Shot 2016-02-23 at 23.33.20

Screen Shot 2016-02-23 at 23.35.31
Feeling creepy

I must admit this one was a lot more hospitable than the previous. Unfortunately there were only two structures with loot. Guys, you remember that I am new to EVE, right? Explain to me, why the frack those structures allow you to attempt hacking more than twice? It took me 3 attempts on each structure to obtain the loot.

Screen Shot 2016-02-23 at 23.40.09

Screen Shot 2016-02-23 at 23.43.30
Target sighted!

Not bad of an evening for a newcomer, don’t you think? 40M ISK in the cargo and it took me an hour and a half to fill it.

Screen Shot 2016-02-24 at 00.26.53
What I’ve managed to obtain

Divine wind makes its move

I was in high spirits. Good money for a reasonable time. I decided to return to Jita to sell all this stuff. Unfortunately, this story has no happy ending. That day I became familiar with so called “suicide ganking”. While I was trying to dock, one guy yellowboxed me. I noticed that, but couldn’t really do anything. That was a result:

Screen Shot 2016-02-24 at 00.38.36

Screen Shot 2016-02-24 at 00.40.12

Pro Tip of the Day #4: you aren’t safe even in a high-sec.

Suicide ganking prevention

Fortunately, there are ways to prevent such things from happening. This series of posts contains some ideas about this issue. Also, you don’t always need a Cloaking Device to run a CovOps missions. In high-sec the most common thing to see is some random newbie running missions. Who would think that a ship which isn’t an exploration frigate or hauler transports something really valuable?

Leave a Reply

