Achievement unlocked: survive a ghost site

… and get some money from it.

Today I planned to make my second low-sec exploration operation. Previous one was OK, I guess. On the one hand, I didn’t get a lot of money from it (which is why I didn’t write about it). But on the other hand, at least I didn’t lose a ship. The course was set and I embarked on the journey.

The desired system was quite far away (around 30 jumps). After making 4 jumps I noticed a lonely cosmic signature in the my current system and began scanning it down. “Hey! It’s a Data site! Not bad” – was my first thought. “Crap, this fracking warning message again” – was the second. The memories about the previous three attempts in hacking ghost sites were kind of fresh at the moment. Spoiler alert: all of them ended up with me losing my dear Heron.

zgtltrm

So I weighted all the possible pros and cons and decided to take a risk. After all my cargo hold was empty and Heron (even with the Proto-cloak) is kind of cheap.

The exact moment I’ve given the warp order I felt my hands started to shake. That was bad. Fortunately, by the time I reached the destination, I’ve almost managed to calm myself.

The plan was simple:

  1. target the closest data structure;
  2. get into the hacking distance;
  3. find the kernel;
  4. grab the loot;
  5. warp the frack out of here.

After completing this to-do list I decided to take a look at what I’ve managed to get away with. In the retrospective I can say there probably were enough time to hack another one of those data structures, because the signature was present in the system for something like a minute or so after my warp off. But I just didn’t want to take that risk. I was pretty happy about the contents of my cargo hold.

As promised here are some screenshots:

Screen Shot 2016-02-22 at 18.48.20.png

Ohh, this satisfaction.

Screen Shot 2016-02-22 at 18.49.23.png

Sadly, I wasn’t calm enough to make screenshots of the ghost site, so for the miniature clipped to this post I used something found in Google.

Stay tuned

In the near future another story series will begin! And yes, it is connected to those Caldary Navy Scourge Torpedoes!

One thought on “Achievement unlocked: survive a ghost site

Leave a Reply

